Blog

SoCS – Let’s Go Deep

Today Linda gives us the following to consider as we do our Stream of Consciousness writing today:

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “deep.” Use it any way you’d like. Have fun!

The first thing that came to mind was the idea of ‘going deep’ as in conversations that dig below the surface to our deepest thoughts. I think there have been a lot of deep conversations during this time of Covid-19. Sometimes the conversations are too deep and I find the deep dive too much. That’s when I move on to something lighter.

Like Jack Handey. You know the guy from Saturday Night Live back in the 80’s. He wrote this one-liners called “Deep Thoughts” which were satire-type bits of humor. Now, though, when I read them, they aren’t funny any more.

Do you remember the song Deep Purple? The version I remember is by brother and sister duo Nina Tempo and April Stevens in the mid 1960s. Several people recorded the song over the years.

Now I am remembering the movie “The Deep” and the scene most men really liked. The scenes featured Jacqueline Bisset tank diving underwater. Sorry, guys, I am going to make you look that one up on YouTube yourself. 😂

I am stiff and could really use a deep tissue massage, but of course, in these social distancing times, that will definitely need to wait. Luckily, I have an electric back massager with an option for heat which does at least help some. It is not deep tissue by any means, but I will take it.

That’s about it for me. I have gone as deep as I can on this Saturday morning. If you want to dive deep with the rest of us, head over to Linda’s for all the rules and join in the fun.

 

18 thoughts on “SoCS – Let’s Go Deep”

  1. Hmm, “deep” is a somber prompt at this point in time!

    Enjoy spring unfolding. We have a pair of pileated woodpeckers in the back forest which have been a joy to watch — quite diverting. And there’s something new in the garden every day, too.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Yes, deep can convey so many emotions, Lisa. We are enjoying spring here as well. We are especially excited to have bluebirds at our feeders this year. Hummingbirds are being seen locally, so I put my feeders out yesterday.

      Like

  2. Seems like Jack Handey came out just as I was starting my counseling career. They were making fun of affirmations when I was all about affirmations. It was a time when I needed to laugh, like now. Thanks for the song and for not sharing a video link to Jacqueline Bisset tank diving underwater. You got me to chuckle with that boundary. Enjoy that electric back massager!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. It is interesting how situations allow us to respond differently to what we find humorous. And yes, that boundary was an important one! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I too need a massage, when this is all over, maybe. My office chair has heat and massage, but it’s not the same. Nothing can mimic a good pair of hands!
    There’s also a band called Deep Purple! They used to be one of my favs. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, Dan, that movie did have an interesting plot. What was it about again? 😉

      We are doing well here, Dan. Just taking each day as it comes.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree with you, sometimes we just have to lighten the mood to make the day work. Sometimes I’ll catch myself mid-write on a blog post and realize it’s the wrong tone…

    Liked by 2 people

  5. I’d forgotten about Deep Thoughts on SNL. I loved that parody of self-help. What a fun memory. I could use a massage, too. But alas I remain safely at home, feeling ache-y, but deeply pleased to be healthy.

    Like

Comments are closed.