Blog

Love and Spirit – #JusJoJan

I had a chaotic night with sleep evading me most of the night. The high winds and heavy rain made sleep difficult. I like a quiet room when I sleep. No noise machines, or sounds are necessary – just blissful quiet. Last night was not one of those nights.

As I tossed and turned, I started thinking about my children and our interactions during the holidays. I like my children. I like the adults they turned out to be. The three of us went through some tumultuous times and I am often in awe of how well we managed to get through it all.

My children did not get showered with a lot of presents or material things. Sure, they had toys and clothes, but not the biggest or the best of everything. But they did get a lot of love and face-to-face time.

I was a young parent. I made mistakes. I learned to apologize when I messed up and they learned to forgive me when I stumbled.

Both my children have an abundance of spirit. They are kind and generous, loving and spirited and both have a great sense of humor. I see them passing those same gifts on to their children. They have so much patience.

I do not take the credit. I often give my children the credit for raising me.  I think we had some very skilled and loving guardian angels watching over us. For that, I am forever grateful. I count my blessings everyday.


Written as part of Linda Hill’s JusJoJan.

Prompt word today (abundancesubmitted by Janet from Janet’s Smiles.