Blog

Strange Goings On in WordPress Land

Pete Johnson notified me this morning he was not able to comment on my latest post. I went through my normal problem determination steps. Checked to make sure ‘allow comments’ box was checked. Left myself a test comment. Unchecked the box, updated. Rechecked the box, updated. Seemed to work fine for me. Then I remembered that I had added some phrases to by discussion filters after receiving 322 comments yesterday with keywords of ‘keto’, ‘succulents’, ‘male enhancement’ and the like. So I went into the Discussion settings in WP-Admin and there in a line all by itself was “@gmail.com”. Trust me, I did not put that in the list of things to be filtered. I removed the line and then went to check my Trash comments and guess what I found? Anyone who left a comment that has a gmail address associated with their profile had their comments trashed.

I restored them.

Thanks, Pete, for alerting me.

SoCS

SoCS – Sharp

Linda gives us a math prompt of sorts for Stream of Consciousness Saturday this week:

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “sharp.” Use it in any or all of its definitions. Have fun!


The first thing that came to mind was ZZ Top and their song Sharp Dressed Man. Do you remember that one? I loved ZZ Top. Here’s the video to refresh your memory.

Then I thought of my sister, Rosie. She always liked a slice of sharp cheddar cheese on her apple pie. That has never sounded good to me. It might be tasty, but I will reserve my cheese for macaroni and cheese or nachos.

In high school, I was in the band and played flute. I never liked music that had a lot of sharps (#) in it. One sharp or two, ok, but getting into three and four sharps was just making the music all cluttered. And how about those sharps and flats they throw in the middle of the music?

Ever hear that phrase “not the sharpest knife in the kitchen” or something like that. Of course, sharp knives are best. Dull knives slip off what ever you attempt to cut and that’s dangerous. I do like a sharp knife.

And what about sharp people. They’re smart, right? Sharp must be good because dull people are boring, like dull knives. I bet most of the people in Washington think they are sharp, but I think there are sharper knives.

Remember those sharp shooter games at the fair? Were they air guns or cork guns? I don’t remember. My brother was always a good aim. I never won the sharp shooter games. Come to think of it, I did not win at many fair games. Maybe the duck pond, where all the little rubber ducks float around and you pick one up and see what prize is on the bottom? I liked a sure thing.

You know what else is sharp? Fish hooks. Have you ever gotten one in your finger? They are hard to get out because of the barbs on the hook. During the salmon run in Alaska, the shores were so crowded, people often got hooked by careless casters. Yikes!

Okay, my stream of consciousness is coming to a close. Why am I awake when my alarm is set for 6 o”clock sharp?