Blog

Goings On

I did not blog yesterday. We left early on Saturday and drove to Charleston, SC to help my husband’s aunt celebrate her 85th birthday. She is a widow and the last living sibling in her family, so we wanted to be there to help her celebrate. She was well-pleased with the number of people who turned out to honor her. What a nice surprise!

This morning I am taking some time to update some general information about my blog. Now that I am beyond the 365 day blogging challenge, I wanted to update the direction and reason for my blog. I expect it to morph into something new over the next couple of weeks.

I have also been thinking a lot about my upcoming month of writing that is NaNoWriMo. If you are not familiar, National Novel Writing Month is a time when writers all over the world try to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. It takes place during the month of November every year. It is a great non-profit organization that supports writing and fluency which I think is pretty cool.

Commitments for November are stacking up which means I must plan to write more than the compulsory 1667 words every day. I love the chaos that is Nano. It is a time in which I really focus on writing. I do not always meet the challenge, but I always give it my best shot. This year is no different.

I have also been working on opening a FaceBook page for my artistic endeavors. Part of that is getting a logo created. I did not want to spend much money on a logo because I am sure my ideas about who I am and what I hope to show will continue to change over time. So, bottom line, I went with Fiverr to get the logo made. The designer I have been working with has been responsive with the biggest problem being me not knowing what I want. I have settled on something, though and it will work for now. Once things are up and going, I will share it here.

So, that’s the bulk of what has been going on in my life. What have you been up to?

19 thoughts on “Goings On”

  1. While you’ve been planning on doing more online, I’ve been thinking about doing less! I’ll look forward to seeing how you change your blog in the coming weeks. Ever onward, each in our own ways, eh?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do not spend much time on social media and this endeavor may not last. It is part of allowing myself and my work to be seen. I understand the desire to spend less time online. Hope to still see you here.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. As for me, much the same as yesterday! 🙂
    Good luck with the writing challenge, Maggie. I am not on Facebook, but I hope you get your site there sorted soon.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Nothing wrong with that, Pete! I am not a huge FB fan and spend a small portion of time there. I want to feel it out to see how it works fir me. Might be a short term venture.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Have you mapped out your main idea for the November novel? Do you plan to share it eventually? I am busy reading and thinking, reading and thinking. That is going to be my answer now when anyone asks me what I have been doing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, Elizabeth, I have had a million ideas and chucked them all. I usually do better stream of consciousness style and just let the words flow. Maybe I will have a solid idea by Friday.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Hooray for getting your artistic work out more widely! And I’m impressed with the challenge of doing NaNoWriMo — there’s certainly something about daily commitment that transforms the experience in an interesting way. Even when it’s aggravatingly on the “to-do” list, it seems to me it can still be a remarkable stopping point in daily life for a meaningful connection to some sort of creativity. I’ve certainly found Inktober to be that — challenging, but encouraging, too.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Lisa, I have enjoyed seeing your artwork. I keep trying to comment but Google insists I be signed in to comment. I can never remember my password! I am excited about stepping into the light with my work. Who knows where it might lead.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. What have I been up to? I’m glad you asked.

    I’m pondering starting an online newsletter in which I post articles I have enjoyed over the years and articles I myself have written. When I open a newspaper or magazine, I typically read about 1/10 of its content. The other 9/10 does not interest me. Is this a good idea? Will it cost me a lot of money to get it off the ground?

    Good luck with your NaNoWriMo effort!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Debbie, that sounds so exciting and such a worthwhile project. I would not think it would be too expensive to get it off the ground.

      If you would like to have a brainstorming partner, let me know. I am all about lifting other women up!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Well, the Wine and Dine annual Gala was this past Saturday night! This is our biggest fundraiser of the year that raises money for student scholarships at our local college. Mostly adults take the program….. Those changing careers midlife, since we have a,working vineyard ( so beautiful!) on campus. And a fabulous tasting room for our national award winning wines!
    Anyway, it was our biggest and best event ever! As chairman of the restaurant committee and member of several other committees, I feel such a great sense of accomplishment! We had the best team ever and raised over $60,000 plus! All totals not in yet!
    That’s what I’ve been doing for several months…..on to more adventures!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow! That sounds like a resounding success! Now you can focus on organizing a retreat to recover! I look forward to hearing about your adventures. You could start a blog you know!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.