SoCS

Affirmations and Meditations – SoCS

Day 121

Stream of Consciousness Saturday (#SoCS) offered by Linda G. Hill. If you are interested, the rules and a link will be listed below the post.

The subject/prompt for today is: “affirm.” Use it any way you’d like. Enjoy!

SoCS


When I saw yesterday’s prompt for the Stream of Consciousness post today, I was perplexed. How was I going to write and make something at least coherent with the word affirm? I can honestly tell you the first thing I thought about doing was just to see how many other words I could make using the letters in the word affirm. I tossed that idea out rather quickly remembering how many of those things I hated in school.

I have often encouraged friends who are going through a tough time to say positive affirmations in the mirror. Life can sometimes drag us down to the point where we don’t have a lot of faith in ourselves let alone love for ourselves.

I remember a very difficult time when I was nearing the end of my marriage. I was constantly told ‘you are very smart but you have absolutely no common sense’. There were a lot of things much worse said and done, but that one continued to sting more than the others.

To combat the feelings of being unworthy, I, too, decided I needed to affirm my self-worth. I found a 2-CD set of daily meditations/affirmations that I bought to listen to on the way to work. At that time in my life, the only time I didn’t seem to be in constant tears was when I was at work. So, my drive to and from became a solace for me.

Last night I decided to go to iTunes and try to find that same CD. I listened to snippets of affirmations jumbled together with Zen-like music, waterfalls, and voices that grated every nerve in my body. Maybe the simple act of listening to recorded affirmations by other people was all it took to affirm my transformation from that weak, beaten-down individual to someone who really doesn’t give two hoots about other people’s perception of who I am.

Maybe this word ‘affirm’ was a good one for me after all.


Follow Linda G. Hill’s blog to write along every Saturday.

Here are the rules for SoCS:

1. Your post must be stream of consciousness writing, meaning no editing, (typos can be fixed) and minimal planning on what you’re going to write.

2. Your post can be as long or as short as you want it to be. One sentence – one thousand words. Fact, fiction, poetry – it doesn’t matter. Just let the words carry you along until you’re ready to stop.

3. There will be a prompt every week. I will post the prompt here on my blog on Friday, along with a reminder for you to join in. The prompt will be one random thing, but it will not be a subject. For instance, I will not say “Write about dogs”; the prompt will be more like, “Make your first sentence a question,” “Begin with the word ‘The’,” or simply a single word to get your started.

4. Ping back! It’s important, so that I and other people can come and read your post! For example, in your post you can write “This post is part of SoCS:” and then copy and paste the URL found in your address bar at the top of this post into yours.  Your link will show up in my comments for everyone to see. The most recent pingbacks will be found at the top. NOTE: Pingbacks only work from WordPress sites. If you’re self-hosted or are participating from another host, such as Blogger, please leave a link to your post in the comments below.

5. Read at least one other person’s blog who has linked back their post. Even better, read everyone’s! If you’re the first person to link back, you can check back later, or go to the previous week, by following my category, “Stream of Consciousness Saturday,” which you’ll find right below the “Like” button on my post.

6. Copy and paste the rules (if you’d like to) in your post. The more people who join in, the more new bloggers you’ll meet and the bigger your community will get!

7. As a suggestion, tag your post “SoCS” and/or “#SoCS” for more exposure and more views.

8. Have fun!

6 thoughts on “Affirmations and Meditations – SoCS”

  1. I related to the common sense comment you heard. My father who was a good and great man said to me when I was 12 and helping him with a project: “For someone who makes such good grades, you sure don’t have much common sense.” I’ll never forget it. He was not usually critical, though I learned later that HIS father was abusive to him. The common sense comment sat back in my memory with the other old hurts and didn’t help at the end of my marriage which added to my feelings of unworthiness. Affirmations helped me realize the truth that I have plenty of common sense when it comes to things like budgeting and organizing and many important life skills. We are worthy and so much stronger and wiser today.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yes, we are worthy and always were. Abusive relationships take a huge toll on us and the road to recovery can be a long one. I am glad you have affirmed your own self worth. It is nice when we realize we no longer occupy that negative space. 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Affirmations work. I rewired my thought patterns by listening to guided meditations every night while falling asleep. They revolved around self worth, escaping codependency, connecting with your higher self, etc… the mind is a powerful thing!

    Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.