Blog, throwback thursday

Throwback Thursday #42 – My Relationship with Money


Welcome back to Throwback Thursday. This week Lauren is back asking us to remember what we learned about money as an adolescent.  Head over to her blog to get the details, and then join in!

This week’s prompt is: Your relationship with money

My post follows.


As a young child I do not remember thinking about money very often. Most of my wants and desires consisted of things like buying a ‘pop’ (soda, coke, etc.) or an RC Cola and a Moon Pie. I had favorite things I liked to buy at our local mom and pop stores. I loved oatmeal cakes, Red Hots, Sugar Daddy’s, Mallow Cups, Bit O’Honey, Kits, BB Bats, etc. – all sugary sweet treats.

We scoured the countryside for pop bottles and returned them to the store for the 2¢ refundable deposit. We loved to buy ‘pop’ because we did not get it very often. Nehi Grape or Nehi Orange, Chocolate Soldiers (or Yoo Hoo’s), RC Cola or King Cola, and occasionally a Pepsi or a Coke. These provided us with an alternate currency. You see, ‘pop’ used to have lids lined with cork. Often under the cork were give-aways. We could often get admission to the movie theatre by saving pop bottle lids or Foremost milk circles for promotions. We would often go to the store and ask for the discarded pop lids left in the cooler where people had opened their drinks in the store.

Growing up in the country, we were never given an allowance. We all had chores. It was just considered being part of a family. We grew and harvested our own vegetables which my mother and grandmother would preserve for the winter. It seemed to me we always had an abundance of food. We were not rich by any means, but I never realized it perhaps until I started school. Other kids had more clothes, shoes, etc., but I still did not feel disadvantaged.

My father was not good with money. He always spent more than he had and this tendency remained with him his entire life. When we moved to Florida, I did not realize until years later, that my parents had declared bankruptcy. They went to Florida in pursuit of better job prospects. Before our drive from Virginia to Florida, our grandmother gave each of us money. Being the youngest of four, I got the least. Somehow we decided that at each stop, we would each take turns buying drinks for the family. Everytime it was my time to buy, I pretended to be asleep! I was determined to save my money!

When I was in high school our home was plagued with calls from bill collectors. It was a lesson I never forgot. I knew I did not want to constantly worry about money. I started babysitting at $1 an hour. Luckily I had well behaved children to care for. It was not my favorite job, but I thought it was good money! I got my first real job as a waitress at a Mr. Steak restaurant where I made 90¢ an hour plus tips. On Tuesday, I worked the register and was paid $1.35 but no tips. I saved my money and only spent it on a rare music album or a special outfit.

When I joined the Air Force, I thought I was rich! Actually, it was a good time financially. Food, housing and uniforms were provided as was medical care. All of my money was my mine to spend. I bought savings bonds to send home to my parents because I knew they were struggling. Sadly, I married twice to men who had poor relationships with money and it was not until I was on my own that my financial situation would improve.

I am still more of a saver than a spender. I have always had the tendency to spend money on other people rather than myself. I am fortunate to have all that I need and most expenditures tend to be for my grandchildren. All of our grandchildren had piggy banks and contributed change for them to save. Thankfully, all our grandchildren have had savings accounts from an early age. 

21 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday #42 – My Relationship with Money”

  1. I also collected empty bottles to get the money back on them, which I was allowed to spend on sweets. (Candy) In the school holidays, my parents would give me six pence to last me for the day while I was out playing. I could buy a frozen ice drink with half of that, and 3 ring doughnuts with the rest.
    When I was 16, and legally allowed to work, I got a Saturday job in a record shop. In the school holidays, I worked in a toy factory full-time, every year until I left school. I used the money to buy clothes mostly, and also to take my girlfriend out on Saturday nights. Boys were expected to pay back then! 🙂
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So many memories rang true in my life, Maggie. The pop-bottle-to-penny-candy economy was strong in our neighborhood. I worked from an early age. I think the best part of having my own money was being able to buy gifts for my mom, dad and brother. Nothing outrageous, but something I bought with my money.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Babysitting was fun for me. I enjoyed the kids and had fun playing with them.
    We didn’t have give aways on our lids. That sounds great.
    We all learn from our upbringing. I sure understand enjoying feeling good about the grands having savings.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So many similarities to my own childhood, Maggie. Searching for bottles for the deposit was a weekly ritual! While my brothers always spent their money on candy, I headed for the comic books and big fat sour pickles in the giant barrel!
    Babysitting was also my first employment and I did it a lot. I often used my money to buy fabric to make clothes, so grateful that my mother taught me to sew!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Our money habits are formed at an early age , we see how our olders and betters cope…
    Sometimes time a good example put us in good stead sometimes not the same with not so good examples. 💜💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So true. I found my parent’s financial issues stressful. Today, I am thankful I do not have that stress in my life.

      Like

  6. I liked reading your memories of money. A lot of your experiences were similar. I imagine kids of today going for their first jobs would be shocked at how little we earned at ours back then, but to us we were in the big time earning our spending money. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I remember getting money back on pop bottles, I think it was thruppence but I rarely did that as the kids next door usually beat us to it! Ex partner drank all his spare money away so I took over the purse strings and reorganised the household to quarterly electric and gas meters instead of prepayment, and got rid of the pay as you go TV as he would rather put 50p in the telly to keep the kids quiet than in the gas meter to heat the house. He saw me as a bottomless bank account and fool that I was, I stayed for almost 8 years because I felt a responsibility to his kids. It wasn’t all bad though and my fostering experience came out of it, which I would not change for anything.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We learn a lot from the challenges we must work our way through. I stayed in a marriage too long and lost a lot, but I also learned what I would never live through again.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I enjoyed reading this post over your relationship with money and I too am a saver over spender and have tended to end up dating people with different connection’s with money. I like how you worded it over seeing other children often get more clothes etc yet feeling like you didn’t go without, either as the same is true for me. Growing up, we lived frugally and I learned the value of small things. I wasn’t spoiled as a kid but as well, didn’t go without, either.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Katy, thank you for reading and commenting. I think in some ways I was oblivious to my situation, always just accepting it as my normal. I would not have wished to grow up any other way.

      Like

Comments are closed.