Blog, SoCS

SoCS – Homophones?

 

Linda is living off the grid today but sadly not by choice. Dan is filling in the give us our prompt for the week and a chance to earn a free drink at the bar courtesy of of Daivd (although I am not confident David knows he has been offered to be such a benefactor.)  Pop over to Dan’s post on Linda’s blog to get the rules then join in on the SoCS fun!

Today’s prompt is as follows:

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “cent/scent/sent.” Use them in any form you like. Use one, use two or use them all. Bonus points if you use all three, and Cheryl will put your next drink on David’s tab. I know, you used to get bonus points for two, but inflation… Enjoy!


Where, oh, where will my rambling mind go? Should I try to tackle these in order according to the prompt or go completely wild?

My mother was famous for saying “If I want your two cents, I’ll ask for it!” which we knew to really mean we should butt out of the conversation. A few weeks ago I had to do a little research to find the cent symbol (¢) on my iPhone and iPad. It is under the dollar sign ($) in case you we’re wondering. Will we need that symbol if pennies go away? Do you think pennies will ever go away? We seem to have a lot of them.

I never saw that movie “Scent of a Woman” but some say it is one of Pacino’s best performances. Maybe I should finally sit down and watch it.

Speaking of scents, many people have perfumesmor colognes they like. I, myself, also have scents I don’t care for. Back in the 60s, I wore Wind Song (remember that commercial?), Tigress, and Love’s Baby Soft. Then in the 70s, I went through my hippie phase and wore a lot of musk oil. Then, I wore Tabu almost exclusively. Adult me finally settled on Chloe. I still love the scent, but retired me does not wear perfume much anymore. Hubby is allergic and I am sensitive to strong smells now.

Have you noticed we like to say all good things seem to be ‘heaven sent’? We don’t usually refer to bad things being sent from hell but when someone is overly determined todo something no matter the cost we say they are hell-bent.

Just to mix things up again, there was once a perfume by the name ‘Heaven Sent’ made by Dana, the same company that made my favorite for years – Tabu. They also made ‘Love’s Baby Soft’. Hmmmm! In my early budget, they cost more than a few cents, I can tell you that. But can we really put a price on the perfect scent?

All I know is this duo may have been heaven sent in my opinion. They were two of the greats as far as I am concerned.