Blog

I Will Pass, Thank You

The next two days will be celebrated by many people in the U.S. and tomorrow, throughout the world

Today is Super Bowl Sunday. I have not watched the Super Bowl for years – no football really. I lost my taste for it years ago. I do not begrudge those who enjoy it, but I am happy to pass. Even the New York Times mini crossword had clues related to the Super Bowl today.

I feel much the same about Valentine’s Day. Hubby and I do not exchange cards or gifts, nor is there a box of chocolates waiting to be consumed. As my granddaughter would say, “It’s just not our jam”. I am happy for those who wish to celebrate and express their love in this way – go for it and enjoy it! We will have a couple of steaks on the grill and share a nice bottle of wine. This year we will celebrate our 26th anniversary, so we are doing ok.

Tomorrow will be hard for many people. Those who lost someone they love, those going through a divorce, or those who will spend the holiday alone – either not of their choosing or by design – may find all the hoopla disconcerting.

Loving, giving, and receiving are hopefully all done with heart. Whatever you do or do not do these next two days, I hope it brings you great joy!