Blog, SoCS

SoCS – A Messenger

Linda has again thrown down the gauntlet asking us to tax our brains and write stream of consciousness. Curious what it is all about – then check out Linda’s post for all the details. Why not jump on the bandwagon?

Today’s prompt is as follows:

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “too/to/two.” Use one, use ’em all, bonus points if you use all three. Extra bonus points if you start your post with one. Enjoy!


Hubby was up before me this morning. When he heard me get up, he said “Come down here quick – and hurry!” My knees don’t do anything quick in the morning but I came down the stairs as quick as I could to see him standing at the back windows with his camera focused on something. As I approached I saw an Indigo Bunting pecking around on the ground.

The first time I saw an Indigo Bunting here was shortly after my sister passed away. I have not seen one since, but now this sighting makes two times this bird has come to visit.

My sister lived deeper in the country than I do. She always had Indigo Buntings come to visit her. she fed the birds faithfully, too.

When the bird appeared after her death, it brought me great comfort, as if she was telling me she was okay. The strange thing is, my husband and I were just talking a few days ago, remarking about how we had not seen an Indigo Bunting since that first time, and voilà. It was a moment, over in a flash.

I see you, Sis. I see you.

 

19 thoughts on “SoCS – A Messenger”

  1. That’s a lovely bird, we don’t have them here. My wife always says the same thing about Robins, and her dad. Not long after he died, a Robin came and stood on the back patio. When we went outside, it didn’t fly away. Every year since, a Robin has arrived and done something similar. Julie is convinced it is her dad visiting her.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m happy for you getting this comforting message. It seems like birds are often the messengers – like the doves when we sold my parents’ house.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.