A to Z 2022, Blog

H is for Howlite – #atozchallenge

H is for Howlite

Howlite is a borate mineral – a mineral containing the element boron. It was first discovered in 1868 when miners, complaining of an annoying mineral impacting their mining in a gypsum quarry, brought it to the attention of chemist and geologist Henry How.

With a hardness of only 3.5 on the Mohs scale, it is not suitable for use as a cut gem. It is more often tumbled or cut and polished and used in either beading or used for small carvings or other decorative objects.

Howlite is white with gray or black streaks and the rough shape resembles a head of cauliflower. Because it is extremely porous, it is often dyed to look like turquoise. Since Howlite is often used in beaded jewelry, it is easy to find often pre-drilled for stringing onto wire for jewelry.

I love the organic shapes of sliced Howlite, although I do not care for it dyed – it never looks natural to me. Also, dyed porous minerals can often ‘bleed’ onto skin or clothing. It makes an interesting necklace and is often a great conversation starter. There is an excellent photograph of Howlite from Nova Scotia here on minedat.org.

I still have a beaded necklace I made WAY back when I first started making beaded jewelry. I love how well it works with brighter colored beads. The photo is attached below.

Howlite necklace with Earrings

 

 

Blog, SoCS

SoCS – The How of it All

It’s that time again. Linda poses a prompt and we let our minds run amuck with it. If you are curious what SoCS is all about, check out Linda’s post for all the details. Why not join the fun kids every Saturday?

Today’s prompt is as follows:

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “how.” Use the word “how” in your post. Bonus points if you start your post with it. Enjoy!


How is it that the prompt for today is the word How? It is quite a coincidence that I am writing about the mineral ‘howlite’ on the day ‘how’ is the prompt. Or is it? Maybe Linda and I are communicating telepathically. Of course I have not posted my A to Z yet because I need to take a photo to include in my post and I have not had my coffee yet. It was a long and restless night with crazy dreams about my precious Valley flooding. Yikes!

”How Much is That Doggie in the Window”. Remember that song? Patti Page sang it I think. I know all the words. I remember it well.

My parents were fond of saying “How many times have I told you…” followed by a description of something we were not supposed to be doing. I wonder how many times I heard that phrase?

Do you remember elephant jokes? Sometimes they started with the word ’how’. How can you tell if an elephant has been in the refrigerator? You see footprints in the jello. Or, how does an elephant hide in a strawberry patch? He paints his toenails red.

How in the world does my stream of consciousness mind work? Well, that might be a question for a much longer post.