A to Z 2022, Blog

Y is for Yowah Nut- #atozchallenge

Y is for Yowah Nut

If you are like me, this may be the first time you have heard the term Yowah Nut. I stumbled on this and was so intrigued, I knew I had to write about it. But how do you write about something you know nothing about? You research. You see, a Yowah Nut is not a nut at all. I think you should learn the basics the same way I did. By watching a video.

I hope you watched the video, but if you did not, I will explain. A Yowah Nut is a small nut-like formation of ironstone which encases a Boulder Opal. They were originally discovered in the Yowah Opal field in Queensland Australia. When the stone is sawed into two pieces, the opal (or opal in matrix) is revealed. The following photo is of the specimen shown in the video above.

Courtesy of the Smithsonian under Creative Commons Zero (CC0) License

A sliced Yowah Nut (both sides) can run from $150 (on Ebay) into the tens of thousands (opal auctions) depending on the fire of the opal. I would love to have one, but not at those prices I‘m afraid.