SoCS

SoCS – Jour

Stream of Consciousness Saturday is brought to you every week by Linda Hill. Check out her blog for the rules and the contribution of other bloggers.

This week’s prompt:
Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “jour.” Find a word containing “jour” or use it as is. Bonus points if you start or end your post with that word. Enjoy!

Jour never going to believe how far I will go for extra points!

No? Okay, lets get started.

Journalism has taken a beating in this country over the last four years. In my opinion, if journalists had not jumped at every minuscule tidbit and carved a story about it, there might be more respect for the news. I think back to the time of having Chet Huntley and David Brinkley bringing us the news and wonder if they learned one way or another. Research for a non-SoCS day I suppose.

And here in the good ole USofA, things are almost stagnant as we wait for the final result of the election to be announced. There are several conspiracy like stories floating. The most hmmmm-producing theory is that the major news hubs want to force Fox news to be the first to announce Biden’s victory. Fox has always been an avid supporter of the far far right conservative.

For me, I am anxious for the totals to be tallied and the results announced. Then this period of suspended animation (as the Associated Press calls it) can be adjourned and we can again take steps moving forward.

Let’s not forget that 236,000+ people have died in the United States from the virus. This morning, it was announced the President’s Chief of Staff tested positive for the virus. So much damage has been done in this country with misinformation about the virus I am not sure we can turn the corner and move in the other direction.

Ugh, this is why I have slowed down in blogging this week. It is all heavy. I also noticed the stores have started limiting how much toilet paper and anti-bacterial wipes you can buy. Hoarding has already begun again.

I am glad I have my NaNoWriMo novel to focus on. And cooking. Maybe I should make some soup today.

Yes, a good hearty Soup Du Jour.