Blog, throwback thursday

Throwback Thursday #67 – Class Assignments

Welcome back to another edition of Throwback Thursday. I want to take a minute to give you an update on Lauren. Her surgery went as expected and she asked me to express her appreciation for your thoughts and prayers. She needs a lot of rest and healing now. Please keep your good thoughts coming and continue your prayers for her recovery.

This week’s prompt is: Class Assignments

We have talked about report cards and homework and other school related activities. Today I want to focus on specific assignments and what you remember about them.

I obviously do not know much about schools and assignments in other countries. If these questions do not apply, just free write on a subject related to the topic.

Sharpen your #2 pencils and let’s get started.

Image by Clker-Free-Vector-Images from Pixabay

1. What do you remember as the most interesting required reading assignment you had? What class was it for?

2. Were you required to write a book report or were you required to give an oral presentation? What do you remember about it?

3. What did you consider the worst book or article you were required to read? What made it the worst?

4. Were you ever required to debate other classmates? If so, what class was it for? Do you remember any of the subjects and your ‘side’ of the debate?

5. Were you ever required to do a science project or enter school science fair? What was your project? Did you do it alone or did your parents help you? If you were graded, how did you do?

6. Did you have a Home Economics class or a Wood/Metal Shop class? What types of things did you make?

7. Did you frequent the library? Was it for class work or for pleasure? What book that you read for pleasure had the most impact on you?

8. What was your most creative class? Band? Chorus? Art? Drama? Writing? What standout creative project do you remember most?

9.  Were you Required to write a term paper or an end of year report in any of your classes? Did you remember what you wrote about?

10. Bonus Question: Did your teachers ever offer extra credit assignments ? Did you do them to help improve your grade?

I will be back on Thursday with my responses.


21 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday #67 – Class Assignments”

  1. Here are my answers, Maggie. Things were a little different in English schools in the 1960s.

    1) I remember being incredibly impressed with ‘Wuthering Heights’ when we had to read it for Enlgish Literature class. I was around 15 years old, and it had real impact on me in its writing style.
    2) We had to submit a written essay on various parts of the plot, and present an written analysis of the main characters.
    3) I don’t recall any worst book. I enjoyed all those I had to read, for different reasons.
    4) We didn’t have verbal debates in any of my classes.
    5) There were no science projects or science fairs. We just did the required experiments in the laboratory, including the dissections of a frog and a mouse.
    6) We had to take Woodwork and Metalwork until the age of 15. In Metalwork, I made a hand-beaten copper bowl that my mum used for fruit for over 25 years after. In Woodwork, I made a semi-electric guitar that used external pickups to produce sound. But it wasn’t a very good guitar, as I had little skill at woodwork.
    7) I used the library regularly to research for essays and fiction stories.
    8) In my final year, I worked as an assistant stage manager with the Drama class. I helped the technician set up sound and lighting equipment.
    9) That was not a requirement at my school.
    10) We did not have a structured grading system, so extra assignments were not necessary.

    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. When I was in sixth to eighth grade, I think I practically lived at the little library in our village, and little it was. But Mrs. Darling the librarian suggested many books, and I loved them all from the Nancy Drew mysteries or Sinclair Lewis, to Shakespeare and Jane Austin! What she didn’t have, she got through inter-library loans. What I really loved was that she would talk to me about the books after I read them, just like she was discussing the book with another adult. I often think of her and the books we read as my first book club of two!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’m not going to go through the list, Maggie, but in 1971 I was taking an “Alternative Literature” class, and we were assigned “The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test” – the interesting part of that assignment was explaining it to my father 😉

    Like

  4. Pingback: Writer Ravenclaw

Comments are closed.