Blog

Grandma Time — Day One

Image Courtesy of Pixabay

Day 310

After the long unexpected drive yesterday, it was good to be back home with our grandchildren. They both slept most of the ride, so it went quickly for them. Last night I found an article about the traffic accident that held us hostage yesterday. It was a really severe accident. One fatality and 8 other injuries, four requiring transport to the hospital. It all started with a semi truck not slowing for a traffic light and plowing into the truck in front of him. His truck veered off the road, clipped a power pole and ended up overturned in a ditch. This is where I stop and count my blessings and pray for those involved in such a horrific accident.

Once home, the kids were slow to get a start. Once acclimated, they were full of energy and constantly hungry. We dined early on a simple spaghetti with meat sauce with freshly grated parmesan. We all ate our fill. We played with LEGO blocks building walls for the small battery operated truck to drive into. Building and tearing down is always fun.

My granddaughter and I walked down to the creek to see if our resident snake was there, but he was not. It was a little late in the day for him to be sunning himself on the rocks.

Once dusk was upon us, we all put our shoes on, each armed with flashlights and went in search of lightening bugs. It is a little late in the season, but we did find a few. All just out of arm’s reach. Tonight we will try a little earlier. It has been a dry few days, so that does not help.

I prepared snacks of Rainier cherries, some promised ice cream and a tangerine for my grandson. They could eat constantly I think.

I always ask where they want to sleep. They always choose the same. On the air mattress on the floor in our bedroom. We have a guest room, but they like being with us. They love the air mattress, too. Once the bed was prepared, teeth brushed and a bandaid replaced, they asked for me to tell them a story. Not read a story, they want a story I make up. Tonight it was about a little girl whose eyes turned to diamonds when her puppy was near.

Throughout the evening, my six year-old grandson kept saying, “Hi, Grandma” or “I love you Grandma” over and over. I never tire of hearing it, because I know someday he will be too grown up for such sentiments.

So, all in all, my day was perfect. It’s all about the little things.