Blog

More Rainy Days

Day 257

Today we entered into what will be a long week of rain. Too much rain, unfortunately. It will be hard on the garden because we are predicted to receive between 5 and 8 inches of rain. Today we have already received 2.81 inches today.

Last year we had some horrible rainstorms and flooding. Unfortunately, we also had some loss of life. Our home is on a bit of a hill, so most of the water runs off. Most of the land surrounding our house has a good bit of trees and vegetation which helps prevent any erosion.

The prediction for the worst rains is supposed to be along the Blue Ridge Escarpment. The Escarpment is the line where the mountains are reduced to foothills. It is full of waterfalls and deep drop-offs. Since I do not understand it very well, here’s an educational video about the geology of the Blue Ridge Escarpment:

For now, the rain has held off but it will pick up again tomorrow and continue for several days. I am hoping the rain is less than what has been predicted and there will not be any damage or loss of life. The threat of mudslides is always looming when we get saturating rain that lingers for days.

In the breaks between the weather today, the squirrels, chipmunks, and birds were very active around the feeders. We always have an abundance of birds at the feeders when it rains which is the opposite of what I would have thought.

 

I managed to catch a little activity on some video loops which didn’t loop. I guess I need to download that app and update these tomorrow. Bear with me for now.

This weekend I am off to spend a week with my daughter-in-law and grandchildren while my son goes out of town on business. I’ll be blogging, but I would imagine they will be short and sweet, just like my loops above. Have a good weekend and a good upcoming week.