Blog, SoCS

SoCS – SkyLab

Day 213


I am not home today but I cannot let that stop me from Linda Hill’s Stream of Consciousness Saturday.

Your Friday prompt for Stream of Consciousness Saturday is “fall from the sky.” Write about anything that falls from the sky–real, imagined, or idiomatic. Have fun!


It was July 1979. The world was on edge much like Chicken Little shouting “The Sky is Falling, The Sky is Falling”. Everyone was on edge because NASA’s first foray into a Space Station was falling back to earth. I do not remember if this was planned, or if the problems that plagued SkyLab from launch forward just caused its demise. Might be a good curiosity research topic.

We were in Virginia visiting my dad. All eyes were skyward watch for something to fall from the sky. SkyLab dominated everyone’s conversation.

If I remember, NASA tried to adjust its orbit to try and guide it away from populated areas. Needless to say, it did not fall from the sky in Virginia. I think the unlucky receivers of our space junk was Australia.


Interested in joining the Saturday fun? If so, fly on over to Linda G. Hill’s blog for the rules and read all of today’s offerings.

10 thoughts on “SoCS – SkyLab”

Comments are closed.