Blog

Mother May I — No You May Not

Traffic lights
Photo Courtesy of Pixabay

Do you remember that game? The whole idea is taking gradual steps toward a goal, until you cross the finish line. This has been my life this past week. One step forward, two steps back.

The physical therapy has really helped my vertigo and for that I am thankful. I have been doing my exercises and walking (which is very good for the vestibular system) and taking steps toward reprogramming my fight or flight responses.

Life, however, can be a real jokester. Saturday I began to notice a scratchy throat. By Monday morning, I had a cough, sore throat and low grade fever. I decided it was prudent to go through the CDC symptom checker on the off chance I should be tested. After all, I had a birthday party to attend in Florida.

I fully expected since I was vaccinated and always masked up, it would say I did not need a test. Boy was I wrong. After a telemedicine visit with my doctor, I was given a test time for the afternoon. 48 hours later, I received the good news my test was negative. Thank the good Lord.

Now, you would think I was all clear to move forward planning my trip, wouldn’t you? Unfortunately, I was advised to continue to isolate until my symptoms were gone for two reasons. There is a chance I tested too early and my symptoms could worsen indicating the need for another test. Also, as long as I was sick, my immune system would be compromised and make me more vulnerable to the virus. This meant I could not receive my much needed physical therapy appointment before I took a road trip.

Tears ensued. I spoke with my daughter. None of them want to get sick, nor do they want me to take risks (Florida is again a bright red enter of Covid transmission). The additional physical therapy appointment was also important to keep my vertigo at bay – that was now on hold. We would be staying home.

This morning I am feeling much better. My cough has subsided a lot. No fever and my sore throat has morphed into a very gravelly voice. I feel like this was just a cold, but as everyone is telling me, the Delta variant presents like a cold.

I will never knowingly put anyone at risk which unfortunately is not the case for many Americans. There are so many putting themselves and the population not eligible for vaccinations at risk. That angers me. Our state alone has 837,000 doses of the vaccine set the expire in the next two months – all ordered to meet the number of citizens that would need the vaccine. But vaccine resistance now has us shipping those back to the government for redistribution.

We were so close.

“Better safe than sorry” seems to be the mantra of the times. Too bad everyone isn’t singing the same tune.

23 thoughts on “Mother May I — No You May Not”

  1. Refusing the vaccine is unforgiveable in my opinion. Side effects are minimal in comparison to the tens of millions vaccinated, and if nothing else it will mean less need for people to end up occupying ICU beds. Glad to hear you recovered quickly, Maggie.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I am thankful, Pete. I simply cannot believe how selfish so many people have been. The mindless following of lunatics without using one’s brain will always baffle me. 20 years ago I could never have imagined the state of my country.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Sadje. We will do a video chat at some point during the weekend. Thankfully, our gifts were sent well in advance.she is only four – she will scarcely notice we are not there.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am so sorry you have been unwell and that your trip is now uncertain. You have done all the right things it’s a shame that everyone is not as caring. I dare not say too much about the anti vaccs who are anti vacc for stupidity instead of those who cannot take the vacc. Life is soo…….? 💜💜💜

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I find it such a selfish and uncaring act, Willow. There are a small number of people who cannot get the vaccine and a large number ineligible because of age. To put innocent lives at stake is inhumane.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, we were so close. Unfortunately, not close enough and everyone eased up too soon. And here we are AGAIN. Sorry about your trip and I hope you won’t need another test.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a frustrating time, Fandango. I just try to find something positive to hang onto. My symptoms are improving so I think another test will not be necessary.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Maggie, I’m glad that it just seems to be a bad summer cold. But these are challenging times, too, and better not to spread cold germs to loved ones, either.

    My Dad is worrying about traveling, too, even though it seems just as safe as staying at home if you’re currently healthy and are very cautious. That’s what we’re planning on our trip north, I wrote back to him. But he’s 84 so perhaps his worry-proneness as he’s gotten older is kicking up. We’ll see!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Lisa, I wish you all the best on your trip north. I envy you in many ways. I also hope your Dad makes it to Asheville. It might be a good change for them.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.