Blog

Prednisone, Cyber Attacks, and Bears

I am coming out of the fog that is shingles. I know I have been very fortunate because I have a very mild case. The miracle drugs they gave me have done their job, but now that I am weening off of them, my old aches and pains are coming back. Prednisone gives me the opportunity to remember what it was like before aches and pains became a normal part of life. Of course, they deteriorate other parts of the body, so everything is a delicate balance.

Yesterday I was awakened by the familiar spinning of my old friend vertigo and I had a bit of a spell of feeling sorry for myself. Now I am realizing I will have some follow-up visits to the doctor to address the ills that remain. But enough of that.

Last night our governor declared a state of emergency due to the gas shortage caused by the cyber-attack on the Colonial pipeline. My husband found many gas stations out of gas and people were already panic buying. I think I have half a tank in my car which should do me until he comes back from Kentucky. I am hopeful he will be able to get there because he has been looking forward to this for a long time. The pipeline supplies most of the gas to a portion of the southeast United States and they do not anticipate it coming back online until the end of the week.

I was in the Air Force during the energy crisis in the early 1970s. Long lines at the gas station, bulbs reduced in the overhead lights, and I even remember all the vending machine lights were turned off. But this time it was an attack from foreign soil – all for the love of money.

I noticed WordPress made another change while I was away. The mobile version (not the app) has a few extra steps before I can get to the dashboard. Change has become their new normal.

Our good friend the black bear has been back snooping around the scent of the bird feeders. Note to self – do not dilly dally getting the feeders in at night. And on that note, I will end this and try to move around a little bit. That’s something I have not done much of this last week.