Blog

Finding the Light

Day 24

Today was to be the second day of my much-anticipated workshop. I got up early not feeling quite right. I showered, got dressed and started on my way. About 10 minutes from home, I knew I should not be driving so I turned around and came home. It was disappointing, but as a good friend told me long ago, “Everything is as it should be”. I have repeated that to myself many, many times and today was no different.

My husband was kind enough to drive me over to my class so I could gather my materials and take care of loose ends. As we left the class, I received a text from my daughter that my granddaughter was ill and they had to take her to the emergency clinic. She will be okay, but my heart just aches.

IMG_7301As we drove, we passed this gorgeous tree. The light was hitting it from the back and it was just so beautiful. We stopped the car and took a picture of the tree. The light touched me. It was a reminder that even in our darkest hours, there is a sliver of light somewhere. It may be just a trickle, but it will be there.

Later we made a brief stop to enjoy an unplanned latte at a little coffee shop in Hendersonville. We sat out in the sunshine for a few moments and just talked. It was nice. I felt the sun on my shoulders and saw the light through the eyes of a very special man who just happens to love and care for me.

Friendship

Several good friends of mine are hurting tonight. My heart is heavy and hurting and I feel for everyone that is suffering even a little. It can be hard and everything can seem bigger when we feel alone. Life’s problems come in waves and none of us are immune to some dark days or sadness. Doesn’t make it any easier, though.

There is so much hate and violence in our country and in our world. Today, this little bit of a blog is all I can manage.

If you are hurting or feeling sad, I send you peace and comfort tonight. Hopefully we can all focus on that little trickle of light and hope for a better tomorrow.

“Sometimes, the best way to help someone is just to be near them.” 
Veronica Roth

9 thoughts on “Finding the Light”

  1. I’m sorry that you were unwell this morning and couldn’t make your class. But you’ve done a lovely post about how your day turned out.

    It’s such a difficult time in our country — I wish I could think it will turn out well, but 2016 was so hard.

    Sending all good thoughts.

    Like

  2. Sweet Maggie, this “little bit of a blog” was just perfect. Thank you for reminding us to look for that little bit of light and to hold onto it. Tonight, as you so often have been for me in recent times, you are a thread of light to cherish and to hold onto. Thank you dear friend. I love you…

    Sending you a gentle hug…

    Maitri

    Like

    1. You are so right. It is a time to stand up and hold each other up. I have been shown the light in times of darkness and I wish the same for others. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. You have such a lovely blog. 💕

      Like

Comments are closed.