Blog, Home

A Day of Reflection

Day 26

After a night of unrest and a mind full of too many thoughts, I felt I needed a day of reflection. I was in search of a reminder of the blessings I have received and a moment to breathe in nature. It was a glorious much needed day with my husband.

Today I will not bore you with a lot of words. Instead I will share with you the glory that is my home and hope that it does as much for you as it did for me.

Before we started our adventure, we went to vote. Please VOTE!!

The Blue Ridge Parkway

We got on the parkway near the Arboretum. It is such a calm and beautiful drive. There wasn’t a lot of color, but it is still beautiful just the same.

We stopped at several outlooks on our way. We met a cute couple from Cleveland and happily took photos of them at Haw Creek Overlook.

IMG_7336

I even did a short video of the drive if you want to travel along with us.

We continued on and the colors got a little more vibrant as we ventured further north. The overlooks were simply gorgeous everywhere we stopped. Next stop was Craven Gap.

IMG_7343

We took a few snapshots on the way a little further north.

We made a few more stops at overlooks until we reached Craggy Gardens. It is supposed to be one of the most beautiful stops on the highway for wild flowers and blooms during the spring and summer. Of course we are too late for that, but we enjoyed seeing the Catawba Rhododendron trunks devoid of most of their leaves. We did not make the 7 mile hike up to Craggy Dome or Craggy Pinnacle, but it is on our list for a future hike.

IMG_7399

All in all it was a fabulous day of renewal. A day that I needed. A day that reminded me that we are small and our problems and worries are small. We just need to embrace one another in the best way we can.

On the way home, we went by the Biltmore and enjoyed a Winky Bar Sundae at The Creamery. We saw a beautiful piece of an almost hidden rainbow on the drive home and ended up seeing the sun setting just above the ridge as we took our last turn toward home. Mother Nature was showing off just a tad bit today. And I am thankful she did.

“Climb the mountains and get their good tidings.
Nature’s peace will flow into you as sunshine flows into trees.
The winds will blow their own freshness into you, and the storms their energy, while cares will drop away from you like the leaves of Autumn.” 

John Muir