Blog

Baby, It’s Cold Outside

Day 55

Last night was one of our coldest nights thus far this year. The temperature dipped down to 23 degrees F and it stayed cool most of the day. It will be a tad bit warmer tonight — about 28 degrees F.

Needless to say, we delayed our walk until the temperature hit 40 degrees F. There were wind chill warnings out all morning, so when we did leave for our walk, we bundled up. I found some really thin ‘base pants’ at Costco that made a huge difference when we walked today. The wind really cuts through a pair of sweatpants QUICKLY!

The walk was a little harder for me today. I’m not sure if it was the cold or the fact that we skipped yesterday. Either way, I was sweating by the time we started the long incline home.

IMG_7911After that, we lazed around a little, then decided to go into Asheville and Hendersonville. Barnes and Nobel, the toy store, the tea and spice store and then to Fresh Market and Publix. I’m excited to have some of the decaf teas we bought. Midsummer Peach, Citrus Green Tea, and a Walnut Green Tea. They smelled divine!

It was a beautiful, but cold and crisp day. Definitely feels like winter. It’s nice to be back home, though, where it’s nice and warm.

Now we are baking potatoes (Irish for hubby, sweet for me) to which I will add a nice salad and we will call it dinner.

All in all not an exciting day by most people’s standards, but it suits us just fine. Lots of memories stirred up today. And I came home to a surprise package in the mail which I am anxious to open. Aren’t surprises just divine?

“I do an awful lot of thinking and dreaming about things in the past and the future – the timelessness of the rocks and the hills – all the people who have existed there. I prefer winter and fall, when you feel the bone structure of the landscape – the loneliness of it, the dead feeling of winter. Something waits beneath it, the whole story doesn’t show.” 
Andrew Wyeth